Now a days, a lot of people are able to do their work from home. Discuss both the advantage and disadvantages of this develpment.

The advent of technological innovations have made possible for employees to work from the comfort of their living space. Today I will be discussing the positives and negatives of this topic. To commence with the advantages, working from home greatly improves the work-life balance. This is especially beneficial to the working women who have to manage both, their job and home. A recent study revealed that enhancement in the work-life balance increases ones productivity by 50%. Additionally working remotely saves commute time. Travelling to your office takes on an average 2 hours a day, which can be utilised to increase productivity. Virtual work enviroment also decreases traffic congestions on road. A recent news article highlighted that in cities like mumbai traffic was reduced by 40% due to such initiatives. Cherry on the top, lesser the traffic lesser the pollution, which in turn is better for the enviroment. While there are many benefits there are few drawbacks as well. Working remotely can reduce productivity due to numerous distractions. As there is no one to supervise, workers can get indulged in useless activities. Also, working from home can make you feel lonely and isolated. People are deprived of face-to-face interactions and lack of interaction with people can lead to depression. On top of that, sedentery lifestyle can cause various physical problems like obesity. In conclusion, working remotely do have a few disadvantages but the advantages significantly outweigh them.