In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decresing. Do you think this is a positive/negative development?

It is common for rural residents to migrate to urban areas. Such a phenomenon can cause a decline among rural citizens. I do believe this is a negative development, as this trend can impact internal commerce, and besides, it can lead to a decline in agricultural production as well. A shrinking rural population has a negative impact on local businesses. When rural residents move to urban areas, it means there will be a decline in customers and a fall in sales. For example, mini markets that have been selling necessities to these residents would have a tough time if their goods were not sold. If this phenomenon continues, there is no doubt that those mini-markets will lack income and go bankrupt in short periods of time. In addition, rural areas generally are sources of agricultural yield; this fact is crucial because it can lower its supply to several areas, as it should be. Take Bogor Regency in Indonesia, for instance. Based on the Central Statistics Agency of Indonesia, it is said that lots of citizens move to cities such as Depok, Tangerang, Karawang, and Jakarta, either to study or work. As a result, the fields in Bogor Regency are abandoned and not able to produce any agricultural yields anymore. To conclude, the migration of villagers to cities can have some drawbacks for domestic trade and cause a fall in yield. The government should organize infrastructure equality to ensure rural people can get the same quality of life as urban dwellers.