Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that studying at university is an essential right for every student and the government should be responsible for their tuition fee. I agree with the former view, however, if the government fully pays for university attendees,it will lead to several drawbacks. It is reasonable that all students should have the right to attend university regardless of their economic background. Since many students cannot afford education due to the high tuition fee of most colleges, they have to quit their study path. Zero-pay university free education can help create the equality opportunity between rich and poor people. This will be a relief of financial burden for unprivileged parents. Moreover,free education will provide them with knowledge and skills which can lead to a more educated workforce.The provision of this, thus, a professional workforce country could attract more investment from other countries which certainly boost the general economy of the whole country. Despite all the benefits given above, I believe that authorities should not apply a free college policy for various reasons. Chief of this is that it will create a new burden on government coffers which lead to the edge of bankruptcy and increase taxes on citizens because the cost for governments to maintain facilities and hire quality teachers is exorbitant. Furthermore, the quality of education will decrease due to a large number of students so teachers cannot take care of every student. Class size also exerts a significant impact on how students interact with professors and peers. If the class is too big, students might be afraid to ask questions which leads to their low performance at university. In conclusion, it is reasonable to say that everyone has the right to acquire tertiary education, however, the application of free education by the government might not sound like it would bring about many social problems. Instead, the government should offer scholarships for talented or poverty high school students which is the best way to support them.