Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that advertising is an efficient way of convincing us to purchase products, whereas others believe that advertising is unable to attract people ’s attention because they are not captivating. I strongly agree with the former opinion and my reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that consumerism is a major problem around the world. In other words, the prosperous advertising industry has led to people buying things that they do not really need. Therefore, these days, advertisements are widely able to manipulate customers to buy electrical, industrial or agricultural goods. Research findings confirm that advertising companies have succeeded in making considerable profits. Furthermore, the generation of waste is increasingly growing day to day, showcasing that people are more likely to buy new and updated products. Consequently, the advertising industry is one of the most successful professions worldwide. On the other hand, another group of people claim that advertisements are dull and fail to draw people to buy new things. They firmly insist that advertising companies have to make further efforts to diversify their ads. Also, they believe that eye-catching ads should be produced to persuade customers. However, I do not find this argument convincing as people are exposing a vast number of ads everywhere they go. Technological advancements provide people with different and colourful advertisements on social media platforms such as Instagram, YouTube and TikTok. Furthermore, nowadays, there are many advertising companies which are closely competing together. In conclusion, in my view, the amount of waste production and consumerism culture prove that advertising is effective. Additionally, advertisements are ubiquitous these days and influence customers in a wide variety of ways.