In the modern world there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessment. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Testing students and workers takes various forms including written, oral and practical assessment. However, although written tests are still the most popular way to check achievements at work and university, a range of alternative methods like problem-solving, role-play, oral presentation and work-based assessment are becoming more common. Both approaches to evaluating student attainment are valid, but each tests different things. Some people believe that there is considerable benefit to be gained from using written exams compared to more practical testing methods. For example, from an administrative point of view, the former are generally easier to deal with. Moreover, if factual knowledge is being tested, then it is easier to check it on a written paper than in a group problem-solving exercise. However, the obvious disadvantage of written tests is that they do not suit everyone. Take students in Italy where oral exams are used as a means of checking knowledge. Switching to written tests could then be problematic. Conversely, students used only to written tests would be at a distinct disadvantage, if they were asked to take a more practical exam. Other people feel that written tests are of little benefit, as they do not always assess students ' or workers' fitness for the vast array of opportunities that the real world of work provides. Functioning in the real world involves making quick decisions, working with other people and using different types of intelligence like emotional and social intelligence. Therefore, it makes sense to test in the same way. Those people who will enjoy success in the future will be those who are able to operate efficiently within systems and find their way around, i.e. the ones who can manipulate knowledge and use experience rather than possess knowledge.