Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Language is an efficient means to many aspects of life. Therefore, children from such a young age have already been learning some additional tongues to benefit their career or communication purposes. Professionals also view that learning a foreign language at the primary academic stage is advisable. By my reckoning, the pros indeed exceed the cons for some evident reasons, and the following paragraphs will clarify my belief. On the one hand, there are many cases when parents are concerned about their little ones’ speaking skills. A prejudice arose when some thought that by receiving more languages besides your mother tongue. It is likely to cause negative effects on children like the inability to utilize their national language properly, leading to insecurities or misunderstandings as they grow up in environments where alternative languages are unnecessary. Plus, many parents acknowledge the fact that their young individuals have not been capable enough of the official tongue yet, take first-graders as an example, this is why there is no need to rush children and pack them with even more pressures at these early stages. The above-stereotyped downsides could somehow explain the reason that not many are in favor of this approach. On the other hand, by good balancing and directing, the benefits will definitely take over the place. Controlling the amount of Vietnamese and English input in moderation, for instance, could harmonize young individuals’ usage of the two languages. In fact, with a second language all packed in your kids’ brains, it will enhance children’s confidence and facilitate them with more opportunities to travel overseas, work with foreign partners, or merely communicate. In addition, studies have shown age three is suitable for a good start, and by learning a global language as a second tongue at a young age, elementary graders tend to get a boost in examinations at school, compared to those who weren’t facilitated with languages in their childhood. Overall, it is understandable why this phenomenon has turned into a trend nowadays, due to its significant impacts as long as we know how to balance between languages. In conclusion, the drawbacks that have been posed above are initiated by false misconceptions like the need to fill solely the additional languages instead of the main ones for kids. Therefore, parents should try to introduce ways to absorb tongues reasonably and not excessively. The benefits yielded will then be worth more than ever.