Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Nowadays, there are a lot of competing companies leading to increasing numbers of advertisements, which can impact customers. In this essay, I will outline some reasons for this phenomenon, and discuss solutions to prevent customers from advertising competitions. The fact that people often enjoy adverts since advertisements inform them about the choices we have. Advertising seems to be a form of modern art, which is applied by many technological techniques. Moreover, an attractive method of communication is necessary for companies to attract their customer as a reason why advertising is a key part of business, and without advertising people would easily be confused when they have a large number of items to choose from. However, advertisers often aim their marketing at children because they, who can easily be influenced by advertisements, can put pressure on parents to buy them things. Not only kids, advertising could manipulate adults since its intention is to persuade potential customers that buying a product will make them happier and encourage them to follow the latest trend. There are some steps that governments can take to solve these problems. Firstly, advertising should be regulated. For instance, In some countries it is illegal to advertise cigarettes on television and warnings must be displayed on cigarette packets. The second is advertising aimed at children should be controlled or even banned such as unhealthy foods should not be marketed in a way that attracts kids. Finally, since advertising is necessary for free market economies and it creates demand for products, governments should only censor false information or products that are harmful. In conclusion, although advertising could be considered a vital part of business and a form of modern art, it still has some negative aspects like aiming at the youth or manipulating the audience. solutions from governments such as regulation, banning unhealthy foods and censoring false information would tackle these concerns.