Is it important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children

Children are often innocent and unable to distinguish right and wrong, making some parents implement strict rules to ensure their kids follow common social norms from an early age. I partially agree with this point of view, as toddlers need to understand the rewards and consequences as early as possible, yet gentle parenting is also essential to protect children emotional well-being. The punishment system is like a double-edged sword. It might be effective to teach young people the consequences of their negative habits. Conversely, it can also lead to emotional instability and childhood trauma. Furthermore, harsh treatment might result in disobedient or aggressive behaviour. Research conducted by Harvard University found that approximately 50% of individuals involved in violence and criminal activity had experienced childhood trauma due to excessive punishment from their family, which may contribute to aggressive behaviour in adulthood. To tackle such a negative behaviour, adults, both parents and teachers, should implement a combination of firm discipline and a gentle approach to teach children how to behave appropriately without feeling pressured. Indeed, small things can be a valuable lesson for them to absorb a good moral value, having been taught by adults. For example, parents can punish their children by confiscating their favourite toys because of being dishonest, but still show affection to children no matter what. To sum up, in certain circumstances, punishment may be effective when applied carefully. However, it should be followed by a gentle approach to prevent emotional trauma to children. A balanced combination of firm discipline and a gentle approach might develop positive habits in young people.