Some people think that government should control the amount of violence in the films and TV programs, in order to reduce the crimes in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

New content is flooding out every day from each and every part of the world. Thus, producers are making content more provocative to attract people's attention over other productions. As this phenomenon is getting worse, some people argue that the government should regulate content. Others insist that this is the freedom of the production team and it should be respected. This essay will discuss this issue from a balanced perspective. First of all, it can be said that the government's control over violence demonstrated in video production is necessary at this point because criminal cases developed from the media are rising every year. For example, a person who was addicted to a violent film series killed his parents because he lost the ability to separate the real world and the violent world inside the movie. This case shows the danger of exposure to brutal media. As more and more violent programs are created, the number of similar circumstances taking place is increasing. Therefore, it should be legally controlled for a safe society. On the other hand, the government's intervention could be a factor that hinders the producer's freedom to create content. Historically, the regulation of arts and media was used to improve the power of the government over the public. For instance, Hitler and Mao banned all art creations that did not fit into their ideology. As such, since the standard of violence cannot be defined clearly, there is the possibility that the government might reject the producer's creation if the message goes against their thoughts. This will eventually block the artist's creativity. To conclude, there is an ongoing debate on whether the government should or should not make legislation regarding films or TV shows. Personally, I think that the government's role should be played to some extent to ensure a peaceful society.