Some parents believe that their children should do educational activities during their free time. Others say that in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certain caregivers are of the opinion that their children ought to spend the majority of their spare time participating in extra classes, whereas others suggest that this puts youngsters under unnecessary stress. The writer of this essay strongly agrees with the latter statement, that an overemphasis on learning often results in excessive levels of mental pressure. Perhaps the most compelling argument is the increase in mental health issues among young people. A survey by the WHO showed that 75% of long-term mental fitness issues such as depression and anxiety start before the age of 16 years old and that the number of young people suffering from such problems has increased 4-fold in the past 30 years. There is a clear correlation between parental expectations of their child’s scholarly and the well-being of the child. A clear example of how schooling can influence this is a 2018 study in Ireland, which highlighted that 60% of respondents stated that academic pressure was the top reason for their depression. There is, however, a group of parents who would disagree with this, and consider academic achievement as the primary basis of future success, and therefore of good mental health into adulthood. Such beliefs stem from the suggestion universities and ultimately have higher-paid jobs in the future. There is little research to prove those ideas, as in a UK study regarding mental health in the workplace, those in top jobs were more likely to suffer from fitness issues such as mental burnout. In my opinion, the ability to connect socially is a vital life skill, which ought to take precedence over extra academic study. There is no doubt that those who are successful in life have highly developed social and networking skills, which can be gained from engaging in team activities. In many developed countries, schools offer after-school clubs, many of which involve learning how to work in groups in order to problem solve, make presentations or participate in team sports. To give a specific example, studies in Europe have shown that this sense of social belonging helps students develop a greater sense of self-esteem, which in turn makes them more optimistic about their daytime studies. Thus, while it is undeniable that academic learning is indeed important, such need must not be overweighed to the detriment of the student’s mental well-being and their acquisition of skills in other developmental areas.