Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. Do you agree?

Museums and galleries play important roles in people ’s daily lives, while some people consider that indigenous artworks should be emphasised rather than foreign ones at local museums or galleries. On my perspective, I partially agree with that, and in this essay, I will discuss my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. Local museums and galleries are always associated with regional cultures or communities, through them people can not only have an opportunity to get familiar with a place but also improve their knowledge. That is to say, native artists are essential as they can create more authentic art that reflects their cultural background compared to non-native artists who lack this knowledge. For instance, take the National Palace Museum which houses a collection of masterpieces from different periods, all created by local artists. Visitors, whether locals or foreigners, can admire these artworks to gain a deeper understanding of Chinese history and culture. However, the limitation is not always beneficial, if there are only the same local artworks, individuals may lose open minds and diverse perspectives; as a result, affecting subjective judgements. In addition, the reason why exotic collections are also vital is that people can experience cultural shocks by appreciating either local or foreign ones at the same time, understand different lives, and further broaden their horizons. Therefore, both creations are crucial for individuals as they provide a diverse range of educational opportunities across various dimensions. In conclusion, I think native artists whose works can show rooted cultures and stories, but art created by artists from other countries can also have a positive impact on people. Therefore, museums and galleries should give equal value and importance to both types of art to achieve different educational purposes.