University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of tertiary students pursue their studies by going to foreign countries in today’s society. Although students may often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while studying abroad, they will also get familiar with cutting-edge knowledge in their academic specialization.In my opinion, overseas education is significantly more advantageous than studying in one’s own country, despite the inevitable challenges that students may encounter. The greatest merits of studying abroad are that students are able to improve their knowledge by learning novel subjects, as well as gain the experience of carrying out experiments in state-of-the-art laboratories. This is likely because such benefits would never be achieved if they studied in their own countries. For instance, when I went abroad in order to pursue my passion through a PhD program, I had access to a specialized laboratory in my field, resulting in a substantial number of academic publications. These traits, therefore, are considered the main advantages of studying overseas, contributing to the academic achievements of students, due to their scientific progress during majoring at their desired universities. The major demerits of studying in foreign lands stem from cultural and linguistic discrepancies, often triggering students to become more frustrated and irritable towards their studies. Culture shock is one of the cultural issues occurring during the early months of migration. Such disparities can pose considerable challenges in communication with native inhabitants and learning at their university, leading to difficulties for them in understanding lessons compared to their classmates. By way of illustration, my friend, Didier, faced these circumstances during his PhD dissertation with his supervisor. Oftentimes, he felt embarrassed, and longed to speak English fluently, prompting him to make numerous attempts to tackle the problems. To conclude, going abroad for academic pursuits has become more popular among students in the modern era. While studying abroad undoubtedly brings social and language barriers, it also offers positive aspects in the context of fostering academic knowledge and skills. As a contradiction of sorts, the hope of acquiring novel subjects and skills can ultimately make the hardships of studying in foreign countries easier, leading me to believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.