Some people think that people should choose their job based on income in order to provide security for their family. Do you think money is an important factor when choosing a job? What other factors should be considered?

It is argued by some people that individuals should prioritise salary to provide their family financial security. While I strongly agree that remuneration is the biggest aspect of why people choose a job, there are many other considerations such as working hours, the company’s value, and the distance to a workplace that play a major role in one’s life to choosing a suitable job. To begin with, salary is the most important variable to select a profession because it is a necessity in life. With the big money from a job, people can provide financial stability and security and ensure their family’s basic necessities such as food, home living, education, health assurance, and make a retirement plan. For example, there are a lot of people who find a job and move out to any industrial city, especially in Cikarang and Karawang which have a big standard salary to get a better life for their family. However, salary is not the only factor on which people base their opinion of where they want to work. Job location, brand value, working hours, and work culture are some other considerations that people look for while applying for a job, along with the salary package. For instance, many younger generations tend to change jobs because they are looking for a job with the same values as them. Similarly, they tend to choose a workplace with a healthy working culture rather than have a big salary but have stress due to work pressure. To summarize, while money holds a significant component in helping people decide on their dream job, there are other variables that people consider when they are seeking a job.