In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

These days, in some nations, people are turning to gathering information about the history of their houses or buildings. In my opinion, this can foster a sense of identity and help with the efficient utilization of houses or buildings as well. I am also convinced that there are a vast number of resources to collect such data such as surfing the net or asking previous owners. It is my view that becoming familiar with the history of properties can develop a sense of identity. This assists people in connecting with their origins and also reflects the lifestyle of our ancestors. Therefore, new owners find it easy to connect with their houses and feel proud. Furthermore, knowing the history of houses provides people with some pieces of information about different parts of their houses. This way, they may take full advantage of unknown sections of ancient houses. For example, in a number of old houses, people had access to backyards through a hiding corridor. I further believe that individuals can collect informative information by having conversations with previous owners of their houses. They are informed people who know numerous things about the history of such houses. Moreover, nowadays, people have access to a wide variety of databases such as mobile phone applications, the Internet, libraries and so on. Consequently, they are able to raise their information easily with a click. In conclusion, a sense of identity and becoming familiar with various parts of ancient houses or buildings are the positive results of knowing their history. From my perspective, previous owners and the Internet are the main sources of gathering information about the house’s history.