In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in water, so people think that they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or dis-agree?

Many believe that plastic bags are the primary cause of waste, polluting land, and water, so they should be banned. I completely agree with the statement. Plastic is both harmful and non-biodegradable. When plastic is disposed outside, it takes around 10 years for a plastic bag to be broken down and absorbed by the environment. Sometimes people tend to burn plastic causing to it release toxins into the air, which is then inhaled by the community. In a recent article from Times of India, it was stated that majority of the landfills are created just to dump millions of plastic wastes produced by the country every month. Not only is plastic harmful for the land and human beings, its also effects the lives of aquatic animals. Fishes mistake plastic waste for food and try consuming them, this results in chocking or it getting tangled around the animal causing health issues or difficulty for the animal. For example, every year around 20000 turtles are saved by marine biologists from chocking on plastic bags disposed by cruise ships. This also causes threat to extinct turtle species. In conclusion, plastic might be cheap and convenient to use. But its negative affects on the environment and the animals outweighs the pros of plastic.