In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With the medical technology advancing day by bay, ageing population had became a serious social issue for developed countries. While many people believe that ageing population presents challenge for government, others thinks that it would have benefits of having more elderly in the society. The greater number of elderly benefits society outweight drawback have became a hot controversy. Firstly, it is essentially to consider the burden of elderly brings to the economy. In most cases, elderly requires more medical support and allowance from society. Even though some of them can pay by their own, but as far as I knew most elderly medical fees in Hong Kong are funded by government. For instance, my grandfarther have lots of health problem. However, hospital just charge him around $180 per time. This is not enough for covering the expense for hospital. With more elderly in society, it would be require more funding from government. And it would be impact the taxation. In contrast, despite there are drawbacks of having many elderly in our society, there are still positive feedback of having elderly in society. Usually, older citizens have more experience in their life. They are better in managing wealth and respect rules. They have more potential to become the leader. And they can share valuable experience to younger generation. For instance, my grandfather always take part in community service leader. Leading teenagers to help the vulnerable groups. And he will share precious ideas to teenagers. To sum up, while ageing population might bring burden to government economy, the benefits elderly brought cannot be avoid. The wisdom and intelligent of elderly can bring positive feedback to society. Therefore, the benfits of having an ageing population outweight outweighs the disadvantage.