Some people think that certain wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are some good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Around the world, animals are kept in zoos. However, there is much controversy about whether there are enough positive reasons for this trend or if they should be set free. I do agree that some animals should not be in zoos. Zoos can be crucial for the survival of many animal’ species. As an example, the Bango Tiger and the African lions, which are endangered species that almost vanished from African land, were saved from extinction because zoos helped keep them alive. If zoos did not help by facilitating the procreation of endangered animals, many species would not have survived for so long. Consequently, the population of those animals is increasing. Conversely, several drawbacks can be seen for animals held in captivity. For example, animals have very high levels of stress in zoos. When big animals such as lions, tigers, and many others are kept in zoo cages, they feel extremely disturbed because they do not have enough space to move around. Animals in the wild have more than 100 times more land space than they normally have in cages around the world. Additionally, animals lose their ability to hunt when confined. For instance, zoos need to feed their animals, not allow them to practice their killing skills as they would in the wild.  In my opinion, not all animals should be in zoos. Endangered and extinct species should be the main targets of zoos. In other words, zoos should only have selected animals in their possession. In conclusion, even though zoos can somehow positively impact wild animals ’ lives, the drawbacks are far worse and should be taken into consideration.