In many countries governments are investing in new technology to deal with the public. Why is this happening? Do you think this is an appropriate use of government money?

In this digital age, modern technology is being invested by many governments to control the public with its harmless method. This writer believes that this is an inappropriate way to use government money due to the fact that there are much safer solutions to handle the crowd. It must be understood that many devices are being developed to stop protesters without causing much injury. This is because of the fact that the traditional way to stop rebels with pepper spray is considered inhumane and can potentially cause blindness. Therefore, governments are in search for the safest way to halt campaigns by funding the scientists and engineers for safer means. Take the US as an example, they have come up with an automatic turret which can concentrate heat on a person for a very short time so they would feel pain but not too long to leave a scar. In this writer’s opinion, money used for high-tech weapons could be utilized to meet citizens’ demands. It is self-evident that most protests occur because many people find some things unsatisfactory and the governors do not bother to improve them. Thus, leaders should fund projects that aim to improve infrastructures in the cities and the standard of life for the city dwellers. Consequently, there will be fewer complaints from individuals and the authority does not have to resort to violence. In conclusion, governments in many countries are investing in technology to produce non-lethal weapons which can deal with the pubic. Meanwhile, this writer thinks that such money should be used to raise people’s quality of life.