More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of news. While some people believe that newspapers or TV programs can be used to get news in the future, I would argue that people tend to get worldwide news from the internet. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that a number of paper-based magazines and newspapers might affect the environment negatively. This is because people cut down trees in order to produce paper to make newspapers which can decrease the trees around the world. For example, a report in the New York Times showed that 60% decrease in the number of forests because people cut trees to produce newspapers more than books. As a result, newspapers might have a negative effect on the environment. It is worth pointing out that using media platforms online is convenient for people ’s lifestyles. This is based on the fact that people will receive the news in real time and fast. Also, they can be aware of the real problems that will happen. For instance, a report in Japan showed that the application alert on the internet can show the weather forecast to inform people, and they will know when it’s raining, heatwave or a storm. Consequently, there is can help people know the news right away, and this is a real connection between what they can be aware of in any situation that happens in real life. In conclusion, we can observe that people will be reading online news instead of the traditional one. Overall, I firmly believe that this is a positive trend.