In today's world, many people use mobile phones and the Internet to communicate with others. This has resulted in the use of new words and different forms of spelling and grammar. Are they a positive or negative development?

There have been many changes in the way we communicate over the last 20 years, and it is understandable that these changes have affected the way we speak and write. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? In the past, people communicated by writing letters and speaking on the phone. However, technology has changed this, and now emails texts and the Internet are the most common communication tools, especially for young people. These methods of communication are much faster than the old ones, and this means that people write more quickly and communicate more frequently. Unfortunately, the speed of modern communication systems has reduced the accuracy of our messages. This is because people make up their own words and abbreviations, and some of these can become quite popular. In my country, for example, LOL means 'laugh out loud', and children write this and say it. What is more, punctuation may be missing, and people worry less about how to spell words. Yet language change is not necessarily a bad thing. Informal texts and emails are just messages between friends. It does not matter too much how they are written. The important thing is that people can switch to more accurate language when they need to. However, if they lose this ability, and formal communication becomes too careless, then there will be problems. All in all, I do not think that you can stop change and you cannot prevent new ways of communicating. On the other hand, it is still necessary to make sure that everyone can appreciate and use correct grammar and vocabulary.