Some people think the rise in living standard only benefits cities rather than rural areas. What problems can be caused? How to reduce these problems?

Today is known as the era of centralization. From this aspect, questions that the rise in living standards only benefits cities rather than rural areas are raised. This essay will illustrate what problems can be caused and ways to reduce these problems. Two main problems caused by imbalanced living standards between cities and regional areas can be suggested. Evidently, a shortage of workers in rural areas is one of the problems. This is because a high number of them have moved to cities in hopes of finding jobs with improved working conditions and job security. What is more, a severely dense population in cities is the other concern. In actual fact, economic studies undertaken by experts have revealed that countless people decide to dwell in cities (where are) equipped with quality education, systematic medical services, and convenient facilities like public transportation. This undoubtedly causes air pollution, traffic congestion, a high rate of crimes, and fierce competition in employment, and this in turn results in a low sense of happiness as well as poor mental health. However, countermeasures to address these problems are found. At first, the government ought to make efforts to decentralise. In doing so, industries and businesses would relocate to regional areas outside big cities. Moreover, education as to severe centralisation should be carried out since individuals are unaware of its negative consequences that could affect local as well as national economic growth. To recapitulate, the problems of imbalanced living standards between cities and regional areas are a shortage of workers in rural areas and a severely dense population in cities. However, governmental intervention as well as education are suggested as solutions.