Many people think that the best way to learn a culture is to learn the language of it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that it is the best way to learn a culture through learning its language. I partly disagree with this view. To begin with, in this globalization era, some languages are already out of touch with their culture. Different countries are using same language as their official languages such as English and Spanish. For example, America, India, and Australia all of them are using English to converse. However, the difference in their culture is extremely obvious. It is hard to understand Indian culture through learning English. This is because essence of language is a tool to communicate, and it does not necessarily include local culture. In addition, learning culture from their language is inefficient, which needs to start from scratch. You might spend over 500 hours learning their basic vocabulary, grammar, and accent. Subsequently, it is only then that you might understand the cultural meanings inherent in the language. Not to mention those people who don’t have language talent might give up along the way. However, learning culture from their language still is one of the possible methods. Because some languages reflect cultural values and their history. Chinese, for example, has a long history. The stories in Chinese idioms reflect the history of changing dynasties, and the meanings of the language also include early social ideas like Confucianism. Each character even has its own unique story. In conclusion, I would disagree that this is the best way to learn culture because it is an indirect way to learn culture, while I agree that this could be one of the methods to learn culture.