Some people think that government should be held responsible when problem of homelessness and unemployment arise. Do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals believe that governments are responsible for problems such as homelessness and unemployment. Personally, I totally disagree because economic changes are sometimes unavoidable, and too much dependence on the government can reduce the motivation of people to get a job. Body · 1 The economy of a country or city changes every day, even if we do not realise it. These kinds of things are sometimes unavoidable because they are caused by reasons which are not controlled by the population. Furthermore, things like global crises or company failures can contribute to the fact that homeless and unemployed people are becoming more and more common. This is not the government's fault, so it cannot be held responsible. For example, in Spain in 2008, the percentage of unemployed individuals grew from 10% to 25% due to an economic crisis which affected the whole country. Body · 2 In addition, if the government were the only culprit for these types of problems, the population would have too much dependence on it, which could reduce motivation to get a job or improve their individual situation. A society works when everybody is engaged in order to make their country a better nation and not depending on external factors. This dependence would only make the economy even worse. For instance, if a child whose grades are low is told that the teacher is responsible, he would not do anything to upgrade his marks; this is the same situation.

To conclude, I firmly believe that the state is not the main culprit of society's problems like homelessness and unemployment because there are reasons which they do not control at all and depending on the state, would decrease motivation.