Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing the medicines intended for human beings, others however think it is cruel and unnecessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advancement of research and technology in medical science, hundreds of new medicines are released into the market to cater to the human suffering. But before these medicines are made available for public use, they undergo a series of clinical trials, most of which are conducted on animals. Although this is the most accepted approach for clinical trials, many people condemn it and consider it cruelty to animals. Firstly, it would be fair to say that the human life expectancy rate has considerably improved in the past decades due to the availability of highly effective drugs. These drugs, however, are results of years of research and testing to ensure maximum benefit and minimal negative impacts. Hence, testing them on animals plays a crucial role in ensuring they do not have adverse impacts when administered to humans in mass. For instance, COVID-19 vaccines were not disbursed to the general population until thoroughly tested on animals even though millions of human lives were at stake. This clearly establishes the importance of testing on animals as human lives have always been valued above other kinds. However, it can not be denied that subjecting hundreds of animals to clinical testing is no less than cruelty, though necessary. Many of the animals subjected to the trial drugs end up dead or worse than living and need to be disposed of. Although essential, this process is against nature and disturbs the balance of natural habitat. In conclusion, I can not deny that however cruel and inhumane the process of testing medicines on animals might be, it is vital for the improved survival of the human race and can not be avoided.