Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

In many states around the world, crime seems to be increasing, mainly among teenagers. The underlying factors of this condition might be globalisation and a lack of attention from adults, and the possible solution perhaps through education and governmental policy. Globalisation appears to have a various impact on society because everyone can access information through their gadgets. Youngsters tend to be more advanced in learning about technology; they are able to find a broad range of content in a single click from their social media, such as Instagram, YouTube, and Google, and those easily influence them. Thus, it is logical that if they learn to commit a crime through the internet. As an example, there is one teenager in Indonesia who learned to make a bomb through a YouTube video. Finally, this situation seems to be exacerbated by a lack of supervision from their parents, who should pay more attention to their children’s behaviour. Turning to the possible remedies to this condition, an obvious step would be to provide some lecturers or short seminars for young people to manage and filter their social media content. They are supposed to be taught about appropriate and inappropriate content so people on the internet are not manipulating them. Moreover, parents or guardians should be involved in these activities so they are aware of the present conditions and opposing sides of social media, which is essential to educate their offspring. Lastly, the government appears to have a significant role in reducing crimes among youngsters. They need to start regulating cyberspace, for instance, by regulating minimum ages to access specific platforms. In conclusion, the increasing number of crimes in several countries seems to be due to the rising use of the internet, which influences young people to commit crimes. In this case, education tends to be the right platform to reduce teenage crime rates, and the government should control the use of social media.