Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, technology has taken over and has consumed all age groups including children, who spend hours on their phone every day. This essay discusses the possible cause of this trend, although, I very strongly believe that this is a negative development. Technology has become widely popular and easily accessible over the years, which allows everyone who uses it. Nowadays most parents have a very busy work life, they do not have enough time to spend with their kids, and an easy solution to keep their children entertained is to hand them a smartphone. Hence, children get addicted to these at a very small age. For instance, I work at a hospital and a small girl came for her vaccination. She was continuously crying, but as soon as her mother gave her a smartphone, it was as if she got hypnotized and suddenly stopped crying, moreover, did not even realize when I gave her the injection. The effect of smartphones on children remains to be a contentious topic, however I strongly concur that it affects children in a negative way in the long run. Kids prefer to stay at their homes and enjoy the virtual world instead of going out and playing. This has led to numerous health problems like worsening of eyesight and obesity. Statistics have proved that these mobiles are making children lazy and the obesity rates are higher than ever before. Moreover, it is surprising to note that the level of obesity and atherosclerosis is so severe, that the number of children getting heart attacks has also substantially increased. To conclude, mobile phones are so easy to use and readily available, they give parents an easy way out to make children do as they want, therefore, kids get addicted to these devices. However, in my opinion, phones have a negative effect on children ’s lives and their use by kids should be restricted.