Some people think that it’s a good idea to socialize with work colleagues during evenings and weekends. Other people think it’s important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals enjoy socializing with their colleagues from work during their free time, while others believe in separating their work matters from their personal lives. This essay discusses both groups and then I will explain why being friends with work colleagues has more merits. On one hand, there are several reasons why people advocate going out with their professional colleagues. Firstly, they have the opportunity to strengthen their bonds outside of work. This is because relationships at companies can be too shallow as they might not have enough time to deeply discuss personal experiences and preferences. Secondly, they usually expand their social network. This is due to them leaving their social bubble and having more contact with different groups. For instance, many marital relations are related to professional relationships, either between themselves or because of a common acquaintance. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why some individuals prefer to separate personal from professional life. The first of these is related to privacy reasons. This is because, by restricting work relationships, work colleagues do not have access to one's personal life and relationships. For instance, some people from work might gossip about their colleagues once they know about their life outside of work. Additionally, by setting boundaries between their job and their personal time, workers can achieve better life balance. This is due to them being able to stop thinking about work problems and uncompleted tasks once they leave their workplace. In conclusion, I believe there are merits from both groups. However, in my opinion, the benefits of having stronger work relationships and a larger social network outweigh the inconvenience of sometimes dealing with unbalanced work and personal life. Furthermore, in my opinion, organizing their free time between family and colleagues from work might enhance their lifestyle balance.