Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

As technology steadily moves forward, smartphones have become a necessity among many. The use of these types of devices among kids has increased rapidly over the past several years, resulting in an addictive nature within this age range. This essay will elaborate on the reasons behind such behaviours and contend that the consequences of such activities result in negative implications. One of the main reasons behind the rapid increase in mobile device usage among youngsters is the relatively low and affordable prices. As technology is evolving, the cost to produce equipment reduces, as such the affordability increases significantly. Hence, parents prefer to purchase smartphones as a solution to keeping their children occupied rather than nagging them. To illustrate this, When a parent has a very busy daily schedule, and lack time to spend with their kids, in order to keep them satisfied, they provide them with such equipment. As it is a cheap and quick way to make them happy and occupied. Even though it is an easy way to keep youngsters busy, I do believe that it has negative implications due to several reasons. One critical factor is that children are getting unhealthy by being glued to their devices. Since such equipment keeps them rooted to location for a lengthy period of time, it results in a lack of proper physical activities thus, resulting in illnesses such as obesity, cardiovascular illnesses and also psychological issues. Furthermore, as kids tend to be locked into the screens and interact with others via technology, there is a clear lack of face-to-face interaction leading to certain social issues that would make the young ones have a difficult time surviving without any type of tech. Thus, using such technologies in an addictive manner would lead to significant negative implications. Thus, in conclusion, technological advancements and affordability have made access to smart devices relatively easy, thus, resulting in many youngsters glued to their smartphones, and consequently suffering from both physical and psychological impairments.