Zoos around the world provide people with the opportunity to enjoy and learn about animals that they do not usually have the chance to see. However, despite these benefits, it is unkind to keep animals in zoos. Do you agree?

It is undoubtedly true that zoos are serving people with not only entertainment but also education. In the zoo, we can have the opportunity to have close contact with animals that are rare and less seen. For these reasons, zoos around the world are so popular. On the other hand, people believe that zoos are cruel to animals, in which opinion, I totally agree. In this following essay, I will elaborate on my opinions. Firstly, animals belong to the wild, in their own habitats, meaning, they are not to be kept in a closed environment such as zoos. In the wild, animals learn how to pray and hunt for food. For example, tigers are immune to living in a survival mode to fight with others and survive in harsh conditions. Living in the wild provides them with survival skills that are essential to keep them alive. But keeping them in the zoo they will lose the ability to capture and be mentally depressed. Thus, they tend to live shorter lives compared to those who live in the wild. Keeping wild animals in the zoo is killing their nature. Secondly, most zoos function solely for financial purposes, zoos are built to make profits. They care less about animals ’ health and overall. In order to make money zoos will force animals to perform shows and starve them if not behave properly. For instance, Monkeys in the zoo need to act to entertain and amuse kids and adults. Also, a lot of documentaries showed that they even get bitten by the zoo keepers. That is so unfair and cruel to the animals, especially monkeys, who have emotional intelligence as humans, they can feel and express feelings. We keep criminals in prison, to take freedom away from them. We should not do that to punish animals, since they did nothing wrong. In conclusion, I think it’s unethical to keep animals in the zoo. They belong to their own natural habitats.