In many nations, it is becoming mandatory to receive vaccinations in order to prevent the spread of disease. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many countries have made it compulsory for their people to take vaccines to combat certain disease. There certain disease that has been eliminated from the earth because of vaccines for example, smallpox. I think it is a positive impact to the society because it helps to achieve herd immunity and reduce complications and death. The herd immunity will be achieved if majority of the populations are being vaccinated and majority means more than 85% of population and the more the better. The importance of herd immunity is because there are certain type of people who are not able to take vaccine due to medical reasons for example people who are immunocompromised, such as people living with HIV, people of chemotherapy, as well as people who are allergic to vaccine and its content and many more. When more people are being immunised, it is harder for the disease to spread. In addition, being vaccinated may help reduce risk of getting severe complications and eventually death. Some people might still contract certain disease after being vaccinated but as we have already developed certain level of immunity against it, the risk of getting very bad complications is low. Certain disease has very debilitating complications, for example, poliomyelitis can cause paralysis and limb deformity and this will significantly reduce quality of life. In conclusion, I believe it is beneficial for the countries to have made vaccine a mandatory because it can help protect the weaker populations and lower the incidence of morbidity and mortality associated with the disease.