Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

There is a controversial debate that many individuals suggest governments need to concentrate more on limiting the pollution of the environment and accommodation issues to prevent people from illness and disease. From my perspective, I totally agree with this point of view and will give a clear clarification in the following essay. To begin with, governments should take action to reduce the amount of pollutants released could enhance the sustainable health of individuals. There has been a significant increase in pollution levels in rural as well as urban areas in recent years. More and more industrial complexities or sites are being built, which releases huge amounts of toxic gases into the atmosphere. As a result, people nowadays suffer from various health concerns such as lung cancer or other respiratory diseases. The government could raise fuel prices meaning that commuting costs would rapidly climb, which might lead to the replacement of public transport, carpooling or cycling to work. Hence, this also helps reduce the amount of exhaust fumes emitted to the environment. Another point that should be considered is to elaborate on how poor housing conditions (overcrowding, inadequate sanitation, lack of clean water) can lead to communicable diseases and affect mental health. Poor living conditions can result in serious health problems as a consequence of the limitation of urban space. When everyone is fully aware of this, they will be willing to take action to tackle environmental pollution and other housing issues to protect our health. In conclusion, although governments should take action in order to prevent individuals from illness by implementing stricter regulations and upgrading the facilities of accommodation, it is also crucial to increase public awareness about protecting their health.