It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that children should learn to distinguish right from wrong in early years and punishment can be used in the process. I tend to disagree with the idea. I think that not only punishing them in early childhood to teach morality aspects is something wrong, but also it is a waste of time and may have negative effects on children with relevant reasons and examples. Young kids are not capable of understanding morality issues. Recent Research shows that childeren begin to understand the “moral of the story” at around age 5 or 6. However preschoolers are less able to grasp a life lesson from a story. It means that kids do not judge acts as morally right or wrong until later in childhood. As a result, in an early childhood, kids might be provided with time and care to discover right and wrong by themselves in a natural process at a perfect time. In my opinion, Kids must be allowed to make mistakes and gather information from their surroundings. Early childhood experiences and lessons can have lasting impacts on someone’s life also, incorrect punishments at an early age may lead to negative consequences in adulthood, moreover, it will take these lessons away from kids and stop them from experiencing the world through their own lenses. So, early childhood is not the right time for kids to receive punishments. Consequently Children do not begin to evaluate actions as morally correct or incorrect until they are older and they need to experience the world and make mistakes which punishments can stand in the way.