Young people in wealthy countries often take a 'gap year' between high school and university in order to spend time travelling abroad. This is an excellent way for teenagers to prepare for their future lives. To what extent do you agree with the statement?

It becomes increasingly common for young people in undeveloped countries to take a year off between high school and university. Despite some reservation, I tend to agreed with the above statement. There are several advantage of taking a year off to travelling. The first, international travel can broadens the mind. If students travel overseas they will be expose to a variety of different cultures and this experience might helping them in their future studies as they will gain more knowledge of the world and of the people who inhabit it. Secondly, 'backpacking' teaches the young people to become independenter adults. Travellers will be have to cope with variety of new and challenging situations. Furthermore, they will have to used their own initiative in order to solve problems rather than relying to their parents or other adults to assist them. In the other hand, there are a number of positive points associated with this issue. In the first place, young people who takes a year off and travel to strange countries might expose themselves to dangerous. At the age of 18 and 19, people may not yet possess the necessary life skills required to survive in a hostil hostel or challenging overseas environment. They may be taken advantage of by unscrupulous local poeple who rely on their lack of experience in order for trick them. Another disadvantage is that someone who intends to travel for only a year before start university may find it extremely dificult to readjust to the structured life of full-time study after a year of exciting foreign adventures. Indeed, people will entirely abandon the idea of returning to them studies thus jeopardising their chances of success later in life. In summarise, there are a number of advantages or disadvantages of taking a year off to travel overseas. All in all, however, it seems that the benefit of experiencing a variety of cultures and becoming more self-reliant through travelling outweighed the possible disadvantages.