In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Not very long ago, big malls and shopping centres took over small stores due to less consumer flow. I think this is a positive development because large malls offer different brands in one place which reduces people's time and effort. A large shopping complex consists of different stores which offer a wide range to its customers. Often, people love to purchase from different brands, since they can find them in one spot thereby saving time. Another benefit of visiting these shopping plazas is they provide ample parking which is another convenience for the people. For instance, Yorkdale Mall is so enormous that it consists of a huge number of brands and spacious parking for its customers. First of all, the biggest impact of these malls can be noticed as the small-scale stores are closing. Consumers have to visit various shops for their needs. On the other hand, since the large stores offer more parking, it often tends to traffic congestion which in turn leads to environmental pollution. Lastly, these shopping centres offer different hubs such as entertainment, and food court areas which attract thieves making it a security concern. As it is very easy for them in these large gatherings. For example, every year there is an increase in the crime rate at shopping plazas because the poor management according to recent news reports. To conclude, even though there are some disadvantages of shopping malls, local customers still prefer to visit them instead of local shops as they provide more convenience.