Nowadays many people chose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

There is a trend these days for individuals to opt for self-employment instead of being an employee in an organization mainly because of the flexible work routine and in order to avoid strict rules. Although it has some merits, there are many drawbacks as well including a sedentary lifestyle and lack of incentives in the job. On the one hand, there are many folks who prefer to be independent in their work schedule, so that, they can plan things according to their own choice such as the liberty to wake up late in the morning to start their daily routine. In addition, some people don't want to take orders from a boss and they also want freedom from the tough regulations that accompany an office job.To illustrate this, my cousin who was an assistant manager in a bank used to get written warnings from his superior on almost a weekly basis for not finishing the tasks on time or coming late in the morning.He finally had to quit the post and start doing his own business. On the other hand, there is a tendency for self-occupied people to be lazy and lethargic.When no one is there to keep a check on them, they tend to be less active and energetic, which can lead to multiple health problems.One of my uncles, who runs a shop of his own in the city centre has gained so much weight after prolonged sitting that he can hardly manage to move around. Moreover, independent workers cannot enjoy the perks and privileges offered by an institution.Many organizations like the Defence Department of Pakistan provide health, insurance and recreational packages for the welfare of employees and their families. Furthermore, solo workers cannot afford to be away from their work for a long duration due to financial constraints. On the contrary, the salaried class can avail many months of paid leave for their private affairs.My colleague in a government hospital goes on recreational leave every two months to spend quality time with his family. In conclusion, entrepreneurship has its ups and downs which many consider not worth risking job security