Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that governing bodies should give more attention to mitigate the problems of environmental pollution and solving housing problems to protect denizens from health issues. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement for the following reasons. Firstly, I believe that alleviating environmental pollution could help to protect humans against respiratory diseases. For example, the massive exhaust emissions from factories has catastrophically exacerbated air pollution in major cities, particularly in Shang Hai and Beijing, rendering the air quality in China alarmingly contaminated. Living in this polluted environment could make its residents more susceptible to serious diseases, such as lung cancer or asthma. However, such ailments could be easily prevented by the attempt to mitigating air pollution, which could be achieved through the effort of reducing the amount of toxic exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere. Secondly, addressing housing problems could also prevent humankind of severe illnesses. In certain countries, people still have to live under substandard conditions because of poverty and overcrowding. For example, inhabitants of many countries in Africa work extremely hard every day in order to earn just adequate money to buy food, let alone enough to have access to clean water. As a result, they have to use polluted water from rivers or ponds for their daily activities like cooking and drinking, thereby facing a greater risk of having infectious diseases, such as cholera or dysentery. If governments allocate more fundings to provide free healthy water to these areas, the fitness condition of their dwellers would be significantly improved. In conclusion, I strongly agree that policymakers should concentrate more on mitigating environmental pollution and improving living conditions for the sake of residents’ well-being.