IYou should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. In some cultures, children are told they can achieve anything if they work hard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Write at least 250 words.

The phrase “you can do anything if you work hard enough for it” is very controversial and very common in the world, with children and adults. When someone is down or needs a little push, this phrase is a really good motivation to keep going and work for what you want. But if we talk about children it could have a good side and a bad side. To start, The good side of telling the kids that if they work for it they can achieve it is that this phrase carries a big emotional motivation towards different situations. When a child really wants to achieve something such as having the prettiest drawing in the class but he doesn't feel like he is the best at drawing, if an adult tells him that if he works hard for it he can achieve it, it gives the child the feeling that someone has hope on him so he is capable of doing it. On the other hand, if we talk about the “bad” side of this. Kids are really naive, with big minds and imagination, and sometimes what they want to achieve is not actually possible, kids can imagine things far beyond where the mind takes you and even tho this is good in all the possible ways, sometimes it can have consequences, especially when an adult has to break this imagination and take them to reality. This is kind of an example of the “bad” side of saying this phrase to kids. They can start to think that all the things they imagine are possible if you work hard enough for it, but the reality is that not everything that's going in your mind is possible. To sum up, saying to kids that if you work for it you can make it, has a good side and a bad side, as everything in the world. When saying this to kids it can affect a lot of things of how they think, for good or for bad.