In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

Nowadays, in some parts of the world, people are living longer compared to previous decades. There has been a debate on whether this population brings more problems to governments or is more beneficial. In my opinion, the disadvantages of having an elderly population outweigh the advantages. One of the advantages of having an elderly population is that they can be the main sources of local history. In many developing countries, students can delve into historical narratives about their hometown by conducting interviews with senior citizens. This is because they have lived through significant historical periods, such as World War II, colonialism, and the early Internet era. In Indonesia, for example, historians could write on the social history of war against colonialism in the mid-20th century by employing interview methods with elder citizens who lived in that period. Therefore, it is important for the government to protect elderly people and ensure that their basic needs are fulfilled. Despite the aforementioned benefits, there are those who argue that an ageing population presents challenges for governments, especially in providing adequate healthcare services. The increasing number of people aged 70 to 80 are more likely to have health problems such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and others. Consequently, the government should allocate their budget in order to take care of them. It means that the government tends to face some disadvantages because of this. The funding that they spend for assisting older citizens, for instance, can be allocated to other areas such as education and sports centres for the young generation. Hence, it can be said that the disadvantages of having elderly people outweigh the advantages. In conclusion, while senior citizens may give benefits for writing local history, I argue that there are more problems of having an older population such as healthcare services that require more funding from the government. It is clear that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in terms of having a senior population.