Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough, and that other measures are needed.

Currently, the topic of smoking is something which bears some consideration. In my opinion, laws against smoking in public places will do a lot to discourage this unpleasant and unhealthy habit, and I do not believe any further measures are needed. It must be understood that laws have great importance and influence in today’s society. This is because laws can be applied to everybody of all ages who commit crimes such as smoking in public places as well as make smoking illegal. Furthermore, laws also can be used to sentence criminals and put them in prison or apply some monetary penalties when people smoke. As a result, the rate of smoking in public will be reduced and citizens can be prevented from breathing cigarette smoke or going down with lung cancer. However, some people believe that laws are not strong enough to deal with the smoking issue and further measures are needed. Due to the fact that law can not make people totally obey or implement the regulations, and it should be supported by other methods in parallel in order to effectively tackle smoking illegal in society. As a result, more and more criminals will try to find a way to commit crimes without being caught. To an certain they are right but if the law is applied accurately and strictly toward the offenders who smoke in public, it will have a great influence on non-smokers' mindset and awareness. It is the opinion of this writer that laws can do a great deal to reduce smoking. This is due to the fact that smoking is a public health hazard and should be outlawed. Other measures such as education or taxes may affect the rate of smoking but not not really as effective as laws. Therefore, only laws can affect non-smokers and everybody can have the accessibility to deep knowledge about laws instead of education or anything else. Thus, the great influence of laws and the effectiveness with which laws affect people are essential points that need to be considered. Hence, it should have been shown that laws can deal with smoking issues and other measures are not needed.