The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and citites closing. Do you agree or disagree?

The internet has revolutionized the way people do their shopping since the day it was invented. Travelling to stores is no longer neccessary and waiting in long lines is also something from the past. However, because of the large amount of advantages the internet has, many people might not want to physically go to shops anymore. In this essay, I will investigate how severe the impact of the Internet truly is. Firstly, it is evident by the amount of shops closing in remote areas that there is a decline in demand for physical stores. Especially in these kind of areas, it often takes a long time to travel. In this case, advantages of shopping online simply outweigh the disadvantages. This obviously has a huge impact on the owners of physical stores, and the liveliness of small towns. Secondly, normal stores do not have the inventory that online ones have. Everything can be seen within a couple clicks and can be easily compared. In normal stores, this is not the case at all. Often shopping there involves awkward social interactions, It is simply more convenient to do your shopping from the comfort of your own home, which is another fatal blow for the survival of real-life marketplaces. Finally, the most important factor to consider is cost and time. Inflation has increased exponentially, leading to high fuel prices. Society has worked more hours than ever before to compensate for these costs. Driving to stores costs exorbitant amounts of money and time, giving another advantage to the Internet. To conclude, real-life stores are at the brink of an apocalypse that is waiting to happen. The Internet has proven itself to be less time-consuming, costly and more convenient. If nothing changes, it is inevitable that all markets and shops will close.