Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undoubtably, a proper network for both train and other vehicles is one of the biggest contribution to the countries’ economy. Some people believe hat authorities should invest more in improvements of railways that spending on road system. Although I agree with this view, I would argue that development on roads should not be ignored. On the one hand, every private vehicle uses roads for many purposes, such as travelling and daily commuting. In fact, the number of automobiles is playing an ever-increasing role, leading to high repetition erosion on roads. This, in turn, increase the chances of road accidents. To give an example, approximately one tenth of the accidents recorded in this year was related to poor quality roads. Thus, for the safety of the passengers, proper amount of money need to be spend to improve road quality. On the other hand, the quality of the railway is directly linked with the country’s economy. In other words, carriage over railways can make a huge contribution financially, because, compared to delivery by automobiles, train has more storage. To endure such enormous weight, railways have to be well-made and it should be inspected and repaired frequently. Furthermore, due to high speed and large volume of storage it is far more beneficial that regular vehicles. In fact, almost all developed countries have a proper railway system. In conclusion, it seems to me that fiscal outgoings on railways is beneficial. However, officials should not forget or stop making improvements on roads.