In many countries, young children are looked after by other people while parents go out to work. Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

In many places around the world, parents choose to continue their careers while they find assistants from grandparents or babysitters to take care of their young children. This essay agrees that it is a good phenomenon because parents need salaries to better support their lives, and children can improve their social skills through communicating with different people. The main reason it is good for parents to work is that a consistent family income can improve life quality. This is because when both parents have jobs, they have less economic pressure compared with those families with a single member going to work. Moreover, with a financial foundation, they have more choices for leisure time activities and abilities to purchase products they like. For example, the World Health Review reported that in many countries(For example, in the UK), family with both employed parents has a lower rate of depression and higher life satisfaction. As a result, financial stability not only helps alleviate economic pressures, but also enhances family well-being, which contributes to a better life quality. Another reason is that children have more opportunities to interact with different adults, improving their social skills. Interacting with people with different personalities and thoughts provides chances for children to realize that differences between individuals is a norm, thus facing various situations more actively. For instance, in India, children with different ages always grow up together with their grandparents while their parents out for working, which provides them numerous opportunities to explain their way of thinking to others and understand others' opinions. Through this process, they become open-minded, and more confident when expressing ideas than those who rise up with full-time mothers. In conclusion, this essay believes that it is a positive case for working parents to seek others' help to look after their children because parents can gain consistent salaries to support family and children's social skills are well developed during this process.