It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It has been claimed that present giving should not be encouraged because people spend too much money on useless things. Whilst it is true that people waste money on gifts, I believe that offering something to remember a celebration or special occasion is sentimentally important. Nowadays, the consumer society we are living in and marketing encourages people to spend more and more money on things they don't need, whenever they want. Indeed, people face advertisements all the time and don't wait for special occasions to buy what they see, even if they don't need it. For example, pop-up ads appear on their screens when people read their e-mails, which makes them want or even need what they are seeing. Offering a present, however, may be a way to remember someone, which makes the gift valuable and unique. For example, grandparents often give something they used to have, such as jewels or a watch, which makes the present sentimentally valuable. In addition, a gift allows people to remember a celebration or a special occasion like pictures do. For instance, we all had a present for a birthday or Christmas that made us remember that day forever. Nevertheless, more and more people resale the presents they have been given, which allows them to choose something really worthwhile for them or something they need too. For example, websites like Vinted or leboncoin in France are very popular for that kind of exchange. In conclusion, although spending money on useless presents is a waste, I believe that giving something for special occasions is important, not only sentimentally, but in order to remember people or events as well.