Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer work and personal calls at any time, 7 days a week. Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Everybody can use a cell phone to make either private or job-related phone calls all day and week. This development has both benefits and drawbacks for the user and the public as well and I suppose the negative influences outweigh the positive ones. This essay is going to discuss both sides. On the one hand, it is generally acknowledged that in an urgent situation calling someone or answering a phone call can prevent a catastrophe. It seems the main reason for inventing this device is the significant usage of it in emergency occasions. For instance, when I was pregnant in the 7th month and nobody was with me, thanks to my mobile phone, I simply called the Emergency Service when I found out the baby was coming sooner than expected. Additionally, the possibility of doing some tasks by making a phone call rather than going to the office gives the managers and staff a chance to carry out distant jobs. It brings some benefits for the companies to decrease their expenses by providing the situation for those staff whose request is working from their homes. On the other hand, there is ample evidence that by introducing mobile phones, people changed their attitudes from gathering with friends to talking on the phones. It makes a large number of mobile addicts who no longer tend to socialize with others face-to-face. Moreover, the signals which are being received by this device are extremely harmful to the human brain, especially children. The negative impacts of long talks on mobile phones will be indicated in the future by chronic diseases such as cancer and brain tumours. A case in point is the recent finding of scientists which shows a sharp increase in the number of so-called illnesses as a result of overusing cell phones. Consequently, although this invention has simplified individuals' lives, it has endangered human beings' health. It can be therefore argued that it is necessary for everybody to avoid overusing this device due to its danger to their body.