New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this present world, the usage of technology is constantly on the rise. This is the major trend not just for adults but also for children. All of the new developments have transformed our world into a better place. However, it has become an addiction to most of the offspring rather than a necessity, I believe that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages. This will be proven by bringing up the topic of reduced social interaction and outdoor activities. As known about child psychology, they are mostly influenced at a young age irrespective of positive or negative factors. By spending most of the time with networking devices, communication has been drastically reduced. For instance, in recent times, parents are using mobile phones or iPads as a distraction for the younger ones so that they can do their own chores. As a result, they are building a bridge between the real world and the device world. Moreover, with the increased use of devices, there are decreased outdoor activities resulting in a lot of mental issues. According to a study released by the University of Chicago, the percentage of people with depression has been reduced by 40 percent in the last five years and they stated that this is mostly because of the increased use of technology. We need to realise that this is a serious issue as this is not only affecting humans physically but also mentally. Therefore, the points mentioned above clearly state that children spending their free time using electronics has more disadvantages when compared to advantages. Making this aware all families can help resolve this issue in the coming future and thus, protect the next generation of adults.