More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

It is true that ebook users are getting increased as people prefer to read using their electric devices rather than paper books. However, I firmly believe that this situation does not affect libraries because they still have their roles in our society and there will be people who like to read actual books. There are several reasons why people prefer ebooks. To begin with, it is cost-effective and convenient. Compared to paper books, electric books are cheaper and easy to download. So if someone has a device like a mobile phone or tablet, they can read books everywhere they want. Furthermore, it is easy to carry. For instance, these days, it is essential for students to bring their own devices to their schools. Most schools are utilising electric devices because it is a very effective way to learn and the students do not need to bring heavy textbooks. Nevertheless, there will remain libraries in our communities because of people's needs. There are still some citizens who like to read physical books such as elderly ones. They think not only reading an actual book is better for their memory, but also it is good for their eye. Sometimes using a ebook makes people's eyes get red, and dry. For example, a recent study shows that there is a 20% of increasing memory retention in university students than others who are mainly using ebooks in Korea. To sum up, while there are many people who prefer electric books, it is evident that there still will libraries exist as some parts of communities will need places to borrow paper books.