Nowadays parents give more freedom to their children than in the past. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of freedom. While some people believe that children should follow the rules of their parents, I would argue that parents should give more freedom to their kids. I will explain my reasons in this essay. There is no doubt that pupils can have their own choices to choose what they want to do in their lives. This is because children can make their own decisions about what they want to study in the university and what they are interested in. For example, a survey at Bangkok University showed that 80% of teenagers who have families allow them to have the freedom to choose a major in the university which can make them significantly graduate from university. As a result, children will be grateful for their parents to support them. It is worth pointing out that the relationship between children and their families will be strong and healthy. This is based on the fact that children will feel to their parents that they trust and respect their own decisions. For instance, children are often to tell their parents about their stories and the problems that they have. Also, they will think the parent is the safe zone for them. Consequently, parents and their children can be closer and trust each other. In conclusion, we can observe that having the freedom of their own decision can improve the strong relationship with their families. Overall, I firmly believe that this development has advantages for both children and their parents.