Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disavantages.

Working and earning an income is essential for the survival of all people. However, travelling every day to the work place is tiring as well as time -consuming. Some people believe that telecommuting is better for most workers as it has several benefits. In my opinion, work from home brings numerous professional and personal benefits which outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, commuting consumes considerable time every day. In the modern world, every employee demands higher productivity in which every second counts. Therefore, telecommuting helps an employee to save time in terms of traveling. That extra time could be converted into productive work, especially in urban areas where traffic congestion is high and leads to time loss. For instance, the average commuting time for an employee in a metropolitan city like Hanoi is two hours daily. On the other hand, lack of face to face interaction at the office would reduce professional development of an employee. Improving communication skills and other soft skills is crucial for career development and this is not possible when employees telecommute. Additionally, it is impossible to telecommute for people who work in the manufacturing sector because their work needs to be monitored continuously. However, some professionals, such as those in the Information technology sector, could enjoy the benefits offered by telecommuting since most of their projects could be done from a remote location. In conclusion, although telecommuting has some drawbacks, I believe that the additional time and flexibility offered by it is extremely beneficial for employees of certain job sectors. Despite the fact that telecommuting negatively affects the rapid professional development of an individual, it increases the productivity which employers enjoy the most.