Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Nowadays, traditions seem to be less attractive to young generations.They are interested in modernity and progress rather than old habits and knowledge from ancestors. Although evolution is important, I believe that customs are crucial to learn from the past, in order to help us not to commit the same mistakes. These days, people are focused on the future. So, in other words, our goal is to move forward. We expect more and more technological advances, scientific discoveries or new socio-economical policies. As every new generation, we think that we do not need models or advice from our elders. But what traditions are about? A tradition is a way to transmit habits, customs and even knowledge through centuries. For instance, parents can keep their recipe secret for years but can give it to their children in order to stay in their memory through several generations, like an inheritance. Moreover, past events like world wars or economic issues have taught us how important is peace, so we have to remember those traumatic facts to not make them again. Additionally, another aspect of traditions is our family education which brings some habits and boundaries and teaches us how to behave in society. Thanks to the care provided by our progenitors during our childhood, we often reproduce this schema with our own children. For example, a lot of parents read fairy tails before going to bed. Then, adults sometimes recreate this warm and secure atmosphere for their children before sleeping, like their parents used to do. In conclusion, even though progression and projecting ourselves into the future are totally essential to each generation, I firmly believe that traditions are a basic foundation for our growth and we need to inspire ourselves from our elders to try to make fewer mistakes.