Nowadays more and more people are using cellphones and computers to communicate, so they are losing the ability to communicate with each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Today is known as the era of advanced technology. From this aspect, questions about whether individuals are using cellphones and computers to communicate, so they are losing the ability to communicate with each other in person arise. In my opinion, the public are losing their face-to-face communication ability to some extent. Irrefutably, individuals utilise alternative communication methods. This is because, unlike the past, cell phones and computers provide convenient functions which are various emojis, texting, and attaching files. This obviously allows those who use digital devices to easily understand each other and this in turn results in saving a great deal of time and effort. What is more, although the convenience of digital communication cannot be overlooked, the public experience a reduction in face-to-face communication opportunities. In actual fact, social studies undertaken by experts revealed that a majority of companies implement remote work and schools adopt video education instead of attending class, so those who follow non-contact society are likely to miss face-to-face communication skills, such as emotional reactions, the atmosphere of conversation, and abundant expressions. Nevertheless, digital communication enhances language adaptation. In other words, since individuals highly utilise their cell phones and computers to communicate with social friends, they can easily share their opinions associated with social trends using SNS channels, such as Twitter, Instagram, and TikTok, so they would learn about trendy expressions and various perspectives while digital communication. To recapitulate, digital communication enhances language adaptation, but individuals utilise alternative communication methods and the public experience a reduction in face-to-face communication opportunities. Thus, the public are losing their face-to-face communication ability.